Be Still, My Child (poem)

I wrote this up early yesterday, before hearing about the slain children in Newtown, CT… My heart goes out to those families experiencing such a heart-wrenching and devastating loss.  I post this now in deep empathy for their journey ahead…

My son, David, age 20, has written another exquisite poem regarding the loss of his father (and my husband), Timothy Kretzmann, on August 6, 2012, from cancer. (I mention this because some new members have signed up since then) .

I offer the poem here in empathy to others who may also be grieving such a loss, and as a window into the soul process when a family loses such a precious being… It compels us all to move closer to God and the Source of all Love, for it is now much too painful to stay away…

Blessings to all,

Mary Kretzmann

Be Still, My Child

by David Timothy Kretzmann

Oh how I miss you
I wake but the dream is not lifted
This weight cannot be shifted
My slumber haunts me
With images that could have been
But not in this new reality
My conscience forces me to ask
How could it happen this way
Why were you taken away
Everyone watching, powerless
As you move from this world to the next
Yet your eyes showed no fear
How could you not be scared?
I weep for a future without you there
And when I reach all despair
In the darkened moments
When sorrow abounds
And I tremble with regret
I listen for your voice
Anxious for you alone
Desperate to bring you back
And when my hope is lost
Inside grows this feeling
Your thoughts seep into my being
To bring me where I belong
Your voice that was there all along

“Be still, my child
Weep not for my body
Love is the timeless vessel with which we are connected
Fear not the future, for I am with you
Cry not for my presence, for I am here
Cling not to doubt, for I have traveled the Path you tread
Inside you will find what you seek
Adventurous joy and joyous adventure
Drift not to angst, you will see me again
Eternity’s pole will guide you
Our true home lies not in this world
Travel forward, my child
Worry not for the trials ahead
For you are a part of me
And I of you
Look inside and you will see
A glimmer of the world that is to be
This is life’s journey
Ever patient, ever courageous, ever joyful
Time is but a mirage of separation
I cannot forget you
Just as you cannot forget me
Yet your journey here remains
Learn that which you need to learn
And when you are ready
When your time is near
Let there be no fear
This dream will be lifted
With open arms, I will be waiting
To say Well done, my son
You are home now
Come! let me show you
Together, we will be free.”

8 Responses to “Be Still, My Child (poem)”

  1. devarshi Says:

    How beautifully stated, and so very, very true.

    joy,
    devarshi

  2. Bill Nelson Says:

    Thank you dear one. I am only now discovering for myself that at times God’s love is beyond words. Thank you for these words that help take me there.

  3. marykretzmann Says:

    from a long time friend…

    David’s expression is sweet and powerful, dynamic and courageous. A good combination of character strengths.
    AUM Master,
    K

  4. marykretzmann Says:

    From Kristy:

    What a treasure! Thank you so much for sharing!!

    May you feel Tim’s aura around you all this Christmas and see his twinkling eyes and joyful smile loving each of you through the veil between you.

    Love to you!

    Kristy

  5. Maria J.H.Th. Elichalt-Roesink Says:

    Our Prayers are with you, Jikai

  6. Jerry Champagne Says:

    Dear Mary, what a most beautiful poem, so personal, so deep with so much feeling and understanding. Thank you David.


Leave a Reply

