Father, In Heaven

Dear Ones,

Our son, David, age 20, wrote this poem for his late father, Timothy Kretzmann. David’s college chaplain suggested that he should write as part of healing the profound grief of losing such a wonderful Dad, too soon for all of us – but in God’s ever perfect time anyway…

People often ask me how I am doing, and how the 3 kids are doing…It is a difficult question to answer – so I simply say, “It’s up and down…but it forces us to grow in ways we would have never demanded of ourselves…”

I was deeply moved by this poem for it echoed many similar feelings in myself. I share it here with David’s permission.

Blessings,

Mary Kretzmann

For my Heavenly Father

By David Timothy Kretzmann

It’s all right in front me
But why am I unable to see
Before it’s too late for me to tell you
That all of my respect is due
My appreciation is all I have to give
For helping me learn how to live
But now these are dreams
A third of your life is all it seems
Before you’re taken from this world for another
Leaving us to take care of our mother

What am I supposed to do?
Without you here there’s everything I cannot ask you
Did it have to be this way?
With this loss comes my way
And I cannot let you be but a distant memory
Though your transformation set me free
How can I honor you?
What on earth can I do?
How can I be me without you?
I have to trust this feeling
That when I move on
I will be there kneeling
With you at the pearly gates
Reminiscing about our journeys
Free of the shackles and weights
The confirmation of our teachings
The paths that we crossed
Even the one that led to our loss
I knew it was for something
I never could grasp it
Without you nothing fit
What could I do but have faith
That death’s ending is life’s beginning
With the Path we are striving
If only to witness your smile one more time
To hug you and tell you I love you
That everything I did I did for you
You were my motivation
My inspiration in its purest form
How all I wanted was you to be physically there
Without you it felt like I was going nowhere
But how it was all worth it
To be here and sit with you for a moment
Did I do well?
Growing out of my shell
Your example was my guide
Your memory comforted the ride
Away went my fear
When I felt you near
Dissolved my fear of death
For with my last breath
I will see you again with full vision
Be at peace with the Higher decision
Embrace the flash before my eyes
Celebrate the joy in our lives
And provide comfort for those approaching
With their lessons still awaiting
With them I will be
As you were with me
From a place unknown
Which I have only now been fully shown
Sitting with my beloved father
For you are my father
My Heavenly Father
Photo
25 Responses to “Father, In Heaven”

  1. marykretzmann Says:

    from D& V:

    incredibly sensitive and profound.
    thank you so much for sending it to us.

  2. marykretzmann Says:

    From Luba S:

    Dear Mary,
    Thank you so very much for sharing this wonderful poem. I was very moved by its every word. Many blessings to you and your family.
    Luba
    .

  3. Julie Morgan Says:

    Thank you, Mary, and to David, for sharing this beautiful poem. Keep up with the writing; it is so healing and will make you strong. We keep you in our prayers each day. Much love, Julie

  4. marykretzmann Says:

    From Sheila:

    Dear Mary,
    What an incredible gift your children were given: a joyful, loving, faithful, benevolent father who loved them from their first days till he left way too soon. He showed them how to love and laugh. They were given a precious childhood.

    Now, it seems, your youngest really got it. He received an extraordinary gift. I remember Master said to His father, “Your father was poor, but that was not my karma to have a poor father. ” By the same token, it was your and your kids’ karma to have a loving, joyful, truly alive, husband and father.

    The poem is lovely.

    Happy Thanksgiving.
    Love and Joy,
    Sheila

  5. marykretzmann Says:

    from a friend in Europe:

    So beautiful, so tender, so intimate, so fragile and strong together.

    aum Love Aum

    Thank you for sharing
    Gurupriya

  6. marykretzmann Says:

    from my SIL:

    This was absolutely lovely. What a gorgeous tribute to Tim. Thanks so much for sending this to us. You made my day.

    Love, love, love,

    Pogo

  7. Anne Hostage Says:

    Hi Mary,
    That’s a beautiful poem. David expressed his deepest feelings for Tim with such clarity and artistry. The poem is a heartfelt tribute to a beautiful person.
    Love,
    Mom

  8. Keshava Betts Says:

    Very very beautiful. Thank you for sharing.

  9. energyandjoy Says:

    Hi Mary, thank you and David for opening your so hearts wide. The poem is beautiful and brought me to tears. You all remain in my prayers.

  10. Lipa Rath Says:

    Dear Mary and David,
    It is through David’s writings (and postings) one sees what a great person Tim was! Yet in person he was so understated and gentle. One would have never known of Tim Kretzmann without having David to share him with all of us. There was so much more to Tim than what he showed on the surface.
    Thank you for sharing something so deeply personal and moving with us. I was choking. I lost my mother when I was two. I know how hard it is to lose your loving parent while your are still growing up.

    Love to you both.
    Lipa

  11. marykretzmann Says:

    from Kristy, via email:

    Dear David and Mary,

    Thank you so much for sharing your feelings in such a beautiful poem. Tim, I’m sure is smiling with love and joy knowing you are such dear and precious souls. Only a veil hides him from you and you will be reunited when the Divine Lila allows.

    With love,
    Kristy

  12. marykretzmann Says:

    from Carol C., via email

    Dear Mary:
    You have a beautiful son. He is full of love and compassion. I was very touched by his poem.

    I know this is a difficult time for you and your family, love and blessings to you.
    Take care of yourself.
    Blessings,

    Carol C.

  13. Anonymous Says:

    That is a beautiful, moving heartfelt poem. I was choking as I was reading the poem aloud to my family. You are truly very special family. Will David mind if I were to share this poem with my family, friends and co-workers?
    With Love – Geeta Chatfield, Memphis, TN

  14. Bill Nelson Says:

    I felt so sad and at the same time joyous that David has such depth of feeling and love for his fatherl Thank you both so much for being willing to share this tribute.

  15. marykretzmann Says:

    a friend emailed this to me after reading this poem…

    Thank you for sharing this extraordinary expression of depth of feeling and love. I am very moved. What a magnificent person is your son! What magnificent souls are his father and mother. I pray for you daily.
    If I can ever help you in any way, please let me know. Or if you want to take a walk or a talk, I would love that.
    In Master’s love,
    A…

  16. James Swafford Says:

    What a beautiful tribute to his Father.

  17. Dave and Ann Kretzmann Says:

    True heartfelt love in a very strong relationship enjoyed by very few sons. You are lucky and privileged to have been so close.


Leave a Reply

